Our Core Philosophy

PabulumIAS stands true to its motto "Meaningful education within Means" : One is able to aspire for Civil Services irrespective of one’s economic means, educational background or social background, is the core philosophy of PabulumIAS.


About Civil Services Examination (CSE)

About Pabulum Ias

Pabulum IAS has been started with the purpose of training aspirants for the Civil Services Examination. The faculty at PABULUM IAS have been eminent names in their respective domains and have around 18 years of rich experience of pedagogy. The sincerity of purpose, academic excellence and adherence to high standards of professional and ethical integrity mark the existence of PABULUM IAS – Here all efforts are given to touch the known and apprehend the unknown requirements of the civil services examination

About the Civil Services Examination:

Click Here for Download the Syllabus

The Civil Services Examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to various Civil Services of the Government of India, Including the India Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Public Service (IPS) among others. It is conducted every year on the all India basis. The Examination is one of the toughest examinations in India and it examines the aspirants on different dimensions of abilities ranging from academic excellence, mental toughness to above- board integrity and honesty.

Pattern of the examination:

The Civil Services Examination comprises two stages:

  • Preliminary Stage.
  • Mains Stage.

Preliminary Stage:

This stage is meant only for screening purpose. The marks obtained at this stage are meant only for qualifying for Mains stage and are not counted for determining the final order of merit.

Prelims Paper Duration No. Of Questions Marks
Paper-I General Studies 2 Hours 100 200
Paper II- CSAT* 2 Hours 80 Qualifying**

Mains Stage:


Paper Subject Marks
Paper-A Indian Language (Qualifying) 300
Paper-B English (Qualifying) 300
* The marks obtained in these papers are not counted for deciding the Final Merit List.

b. General Studies & Essay:

Paper - I Essay 250
Paper - II General Studies - I 250
Paper - III General Studies - II 250
Paper - IV General Studies - III 250
Paper - V General Studies - IV 250

c. Optional Subject:

Paper - VI Optional subject Paper - I 250
Paper - VII Optional subject Paper - II 250

d. Personality Test

Personality Test (Interview): 275

Grand Total (b+c+d)



The examination consists of the following three stages:

  • Stage I: preliminary examination - A qualifying test advertised in Feb-March and held in June-July each year results are published in mid-august.
  • Stage II Main examination -held in October every year.
  • Stage III personality test (interview) -held in March each year. Final results are usually announced in May the training program for the selected candidates usually commences the following September.
  • Eligibility

    Eligibility for the examination is as follows:

  • for the Indian Administrative service and the Indian police service the candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For other services, the candidate must be one of the following:
  • A citizen of India
  • A citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan
  • A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India
  • Education

    All candidates must have as a minimum one of the following educational qualifications:
  • A degree from a central, state or a deemed university
  • A degree from an open university
  • A degree qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above the following candidates are also eligible, but must submit proof of their eligibility from a competent authority at their institute university at the time of the main examination, failing which they will not be allowed to attend the exam.
  • Candidate who have appeared in an examination, the passing of which would render them educationally qualified enough to satisfy one of the above points
  • Candidate who have passed the final exam of ICAI, ICSI and ICWAI.
  • A degree from a private university.
  • A degree from any foreign university recognized by the Association of Indian universities.
  • Age

    The candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years (for the General category candidate) on August 1 of the year of examination. Prescribed age limits vary with respect reservations.

  • For Other Backward Castes (OBC) the upper age limit is 35
  • For Scheduled Casted (SC)and Scheduled tribes (ST), the limit is 37 years.
  • The upper age limit is relaxed for certain candidate who are backward with respect to other factors and differently
  • Number of attempt

    The number of times a candidate may attempt the exam is limited as follow

  • General category candidates =6.
  • OBC category candidates =9.
  • SC/ST candidate =unlimited attempts till 37 years of age.
  • Appearing to attempt one of the papers in the preliminary examination is counted as on attempt including disqualification/ cancellation of candidature. However, applying to sit the exam but failing to attend is not counted as an attempt.

    List of Services

    Following are the services which one gets on qualifying the Civil service Examination.

    All India Services (Group A)

  • Indian administrative service (IAS)
  • Indian Police service (IPS)
  • Central service (Group A)

  • Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IA&AS)
  • Indian civil Accounts service (ICAS)
  • Indian corporate low service (ICLS)
  • Indian Defence Accounts (IDAS)
  • Indian Defence Estates Service (IDES)
  • Indian foreign Service (IFS)
  • Indian Information service (IIS)
  • Indian ordnance Factories service (IOFS)
  • Indian post& Telecommunication Accounts and Finance Service (IP&TAFS)
  • Indian Postal Service (IPOS)
  • Indian Railway Account service (IRAS)
  • Indian railway personnel service (IRPS)
  • Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS-IT)
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS-C&CE)
  • Indian trade Service (ITrS)
  • Railway Protection Force (RPF)
  • Group B Services
  • Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (AFHCS)
  • Delhi Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service (DANICS)
  • Delhi Andaman Islands Police Service (DANIPS)
  • Pondicherry Civil Service (PCS)
  • Pondicherry Police Service (PPC)
  • According to the new marks allocations in civil service Examination 2023 there are some changes made in the examination according to the suggestion of However, after some controversy the qualifying papers for Indian languages and English were restored to the examination.

  • Paper Subject Marks
  • Paper A (one of the India languages listed below, to be selected by the candidate (from the languages listed In the English Schedule to the Constitution of India)
  • Paper B English Qualifying
  • Paper I Essay
  • Paper II General Studies I (India heritage and culture, history and geography of the world and security
  • Paper III General Studies II (Governance, constitution, polity, social, justice and international relations)
  • Paper IV General Studies III (Technology, economic development, bio-diversity, environment, security) And disaster management)
  • Paper v General Studies IV (ethics, integrity and aptitude)
  • Paper VI, Two papers on subjects to be selected by the candidate from the list of optional subjects
  • VII below (250 marks for each paper)
  • Sub Total (Written test
  • Personality test (Interview)
  • Total Marks

    Our Popular Courses

    Classroom Courses

    Test Series

    Online Courses

    Mains Answer Writing Programme

    Free Resources

    Optional Classes for Geography